There are many reasons

print
…why girls don’t get an education. At the Zonta International conference on forced and early marriage, Carola Gosch spoke with Quentin Wodon of the World Bank about the issue. In an article for the Online-Magazine Medium he summarizes the reasons well:

1. Bad learning results and costs.

2. Failure in exams.

3. Lack of secondary schools nearby.

4. Married girls are often not allowed to attend school.

5. They must never go to school because the parents themselves have never received school education or register too late. (And are then no longer taken)

6. Firstborns often have to help in the household and thus have little chance of education.

But what are the solutions?

According to Quentin Wodon, measures must be taken to improve educational opportunities and raise awareness in society. In addition, programmes that provide economic opportunities for women and investment in education for girls and their families help.

This is the approach that Roots for Life follows with its scholarships for girls and the special process of exchange with parents. The training farm for women from Chyangsar and Ghunsa offers them new perspectives and opportunities.

More Info here.

Es gibt viele Gründe

print
…warum Mädchen keine Schulbildung bekommen. Auf der Konferenz zu Zwangs- und Frühehe des Vereins Zonta International konnte Carola Gosch mit Quentin Wodon von der Weltbank über das Thema sprechen. In einem Artikel für das Online-Magazin Medium fasst er die Gründe gut zusammen:
 
1. Schlechte Lernresultate und Kosten. 
 
2. Versagen bei Prüfungen.
 
3. Fehlende Sekundarschulen in der Nähe. 
 
4. Verheiratete Mädchen dürfen die Schule oft nicht mehr besuchen.
 
5. Sie dürfen nie in die Schule gehen, weil die Eltern selbst nie Schulbildung bekommen haben oder melden sich zu spät an. (Und werden dann nicht mehr genommen)
 
6. Erstgeborene müssen oft im Haushalt helfen und haben so wenig Chance auf Bildung. 
 
Doch was sind die Lösungen?
 
Laut Quentin Wodon müssen Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Bildungsmöglichkeiten und Erhöhung des Bewusstseins in der Gesellschaft getroffen werden. Außerdem helfen Programme, die wirtschaftliche Möglichkeiten für Frauen bieten sowie Investitionen in Bildung für Mädchen und ihre Familien.
 
Genau diesen Ansatz verfolgt auch Roots for Life mit den Stipendien für Mädchen und dem speziellen Prozess des Austauschs mit den Eltern. Die Trainingsfarm für die Frauen aus Chyangsar und Ghunsa bietet diesen neue Perspektiven und Möglichkeiten.
 
Mehr Info hier