Pokhara: Care Center & Drop-In

What it is about

- In Pokhara, our project partner Opportunity Village operates the care center Good Shepherd Children's Home for children and young women who live on the fringes of society. Here they can live and receive care and supervision until they finish school. The girls and young women, who stay in the care center are affected by sexual violence, human trafficking, child labor or are exposed to a high risk. Many have lost their parents or were abandoned by them. In Good Shepherd Children's Home they can spend their day with activities that fit their age, develop their talents and abilities. The goal is, to prepare them for sustaining in society.

Since the earthquake in 2015, many girls from the destroyed villages are coming to Pokhara, hoping to make money there. Because of a lack of training, prostitution often seems to be the only possibility for them to earn money. At the Drop-In Center of Opportunity Village Nepal these girls get support in finding a more suitable training place and stabilizing themselves professionally. In addition to the mentoring and coaching of these girls, representatives are being trained to prevent sexual violence. They are trained to go into the villagers and inform and educate villagers about various women's issues.

Our part in this project

In autumn 2016, the first contract between Roots for Life and the Drop-In Center of Opportunity Village Nepal was concluded, in which we take over the financing of training places for girls in danger. Now we can also take over all school expenses for some children living in the care center Good Shepherd Children's Home. We are still looking for godmothers/-fathers which want to support these girls.

Pictures

Status

Q4/2017: The education program is going well, the girls learn ...
More...

 

News

Binita’s story

Binita B.K. (Name changed) is one of the resident of the Opportunity Village in Pokhara, whom we support with a ...
More...

Vanita’s story

Vanita (name changed) was three years old when her parents were arrested for drug possession. At first, she lived in ...
More...

10.12.2017 – International day of human rights

On 10th of December was not only the “International Day of Human Rights”, but also the finale of the action ...
More...

Loading...

Pokhara: Betreuungszentrum & Anlaufstelle

Worum es geht

- Unser Projektpartner Opportunity Village betreibt in Pokhara das Betreuungszentrum Good Shepherd Children's Home für Kinder und Jugendliche, die am Rande der Gesellschaft leben. Hier dürfen sie wohnen und werden betreut bis sie ihre Schulbildung abgeschlossen haben. Die Mädchen, die hier leben, sind von sexueller Gewalt, Menschenhandel, Kinderarbeit betroffen oder einem hohen Risiko ausgesetzt. Viele haben ihre Eltern verloren oder wurden von ihnen verlassen. Im Good Shepherd Children‘s Home können sie tun, was Kindern entspricht, sich entwickeln und ihre Talente formen. Ziel ist, sie bereit für die Gesellschaft zu machen, um darin als eigenständige Individuen zu bestehen. 

Seit dem Erdbeben 2015 kommen viele Mädchen aus den zerstörten Dörfern nach Pokhara, in der Hoffnung, dort Geld zu verdienen. Aufgrund einer fehlenden Ausbildung bleibt ihnen oft nur die Prostitution. Die Anlaufstelle des Opportunity Village Nepal unterstützt diese Mädchen darin, einen geeigneteren Ausbildungsplatz zu finden und sich beruflich zu stabilisieren. Neben dem Mentoring und Coaching dieser Mädchen werden auch Präventionsbotschafterinnen gegen sexuelle Gewalt ausgebildet. Diese werden in Zukunft die Aufklärung in den Dörfern in Bezug auf verschiedenste Frauenthemen durchführen.

Unsere Rolle

Im Herbst 2016 wurde der erste Vertrag zwischen Roots for Life und der Anlaufstelle des Opportunity Village in Pokhara abgeschlossen, in dem wir die Finanzierung von Ausbildungsplätzen für gefährdete Mädchen übernommen haben. Nun könnten wir auch Kindern im Betreuungszentrum Good Shepherd Children's Home die Schulbildung ermöglichen. Dafür werden weiterhin Paten und Patinnen benötigen.

Fotos

Status

Q4/2017: Das Ausildungsprogramm läuft gut, die Mädchen lernen viel über ...
Mehr...

 

News

Binitas Geschichte

Binita B.K. (Name geändert) ist eine der Bewohnerinnen des Opportunity Village in Pokhara, die wir mit einem Stipendium unterstützen. Hier ...
Mehr...

Vanitas Geschichte

Vanita (Name geändert) war drei Jahre alt, als ihre Eltern wegen Drogenbesitz verhaftet wurden. Zunächst lebte sie mit ihrer Mutter ...
Mehr...

10.12.2017 – Internationaler Tag der Menschenrechte

Am 10. Dezember war nicht nur der „Internationale Tag der Menschenrechte“, sondern auch der Abschluss der Aktion „16 Tage gegen ...
Mehr...

Lade …