Chyangsar: Organic Farming

Roots for Life developed an overall concept for Chyangsar in order to promote the sustainable development of individual villages. Part of this concept is the establishment of a model farm. Here organic vegetable cultivation and in the future also vegetable processing are practised. The focus is not on efficient, economically oriented production. The basic principle of the model farm is to give all women an opportunity to learn, to try out and to practice. All women in the village can take part in free training sessions and thus also grow organic crops at home. Here they learn, for example, how to build greenhouses, produce organic fertilisers or how pests can be controlled naturally. So they do not become dependent on hybrid seeds and chemical pesticides. Young plants were distributed, sold or given away in exchange for a share of the harvest. Through the joint processing and marketing of the products produced, it will not only be possible in future to strengthen one's own supply, but also to generate income. However, in the sense of empowerment, the responsibility lies with the women's cooperative of Chyangsar from the very beginning: the women's initiative is essential and is not only integrated into the overall development, but is also a driving force. See also Building Local Structures: Building and strengthening local structures.

For the technical implementation of this project we were able to win over the Nepalese organisation Social Work Institute. The Institute's experts provide training on topics such as cultivation, compost production, accounting and planning.

Our role

Since the 2015 earthquake, Roots for Life has been working with women to initiate and finance the activities of the training farm. Roots for Life has been able to guarantee the operation of the training farm through the financial support of Fair Styria, among others. Many women work free of charge on the model farm. At the beginning of the project there was not a single greenhouse in the village. After three large greenhouses were built together on the model farm, some women also built private ones for themselves with the new knowledge.

Slideshow

Pictures

CH_F living fence 5 CH_F living fence 1 CH_F living fence 2 CH_F living fence 3 CH_F oxen already housekeeper CH_F housekeeper in front of house CH_F management training 2 CH_F management training 1 CH_F management training 5 CH_F management training 3 CH_F harvesting cabbage CH_F selling cabbage vegetables CH_F cabbage harvest help kusang CH_F cabbage women CH_F government greenhouse 4 CH_F permaculture training CH_F permaculture red pants CH_F bug dead CH_F trainers of SWI CH_F group photo swi CH_F tomas earth tips input CH_F tree inputs CH_F ghunsa festival tired boy CH_F interviews ghunsa CH_W Sushila and son shop CH_W susila shop business CH_C Ghunsa drive river bike CH_F map ghunsa chimding CH_F women group 1 CH_F eggplants CH_F gourd CH_F Tropfschlauch CH_F greenhouse CH_F women on field CH_F Ochsen Stall CH_F Ochsen Weide CH_F Kohl CH_F Kohl abwägen 2 CH_F ochsen sharing 3 CH_F ochsen sharing 4 CH_F ochsen sharing 5 CH_F proud work CH_F preparing plants for fertilizer CH_F training on the field CH_F training in greenhouse CH_F training raj SWI CH_F cabbage first harvest CH_F wheat field CH_F cabbage field CH_F ginger tumeric fiels CH_F women in greenhouse 2 CH_F second greenhouse CH_F plot location map CH_F carola opening flowers girl CH_F preparation opening CH_F group susila carola CH_F fields shelter CH_F first greenhouse CH_F kusang and watersource CH_F Carola and watersource CH_F new watersource CH_F women group eating CH_F water discussion CH_F watersystem broken CH_F happy women CH_F planned plots CH_F assembly CH_F women look CH_F closing contract CH_F discussion

Status

Q2/2018: The women continue to participate in many trainings. A ...
More...

 

News

Literacy courses started

The women from Ghunsa also took part in training courses in Chyangsar for the first time. (Better) learning to read ...
More...

Project in Ghunsa

Together with Chay Ya Nepal we are now starting the village development project in Ghunsa. Activities are planned similar to ...
More...

A living fence

Around the entire farm area… …the villagers of Chyangsar are now building a “living fence”. They hike regularly in the ...
More...

Loading...

Chyangsar: Biologischer Gemüseanbau

Im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung einzelner Dörfer entwickelte Roots for Life ein Gesamtkonzept für Chyangsar. Ein Teil davon ist der Aufbau einer Modellfarm. Hier wird biologischer Gemüseanbau und in Zukunft auch Gemüseverarbeitung betrieben. Im Zentrum steht nicht die effiziente ökonomisch orientierte Produktion. Das Grundprinzip der Modellfarm ist, allen Frauen eine Möglichkeit zu geben zu lernen, auszuprobieren, zu üben. Alle Frauen des Dorfes können an kostenlosen Trainings teilnehmen und damit auch zu Hause biologische anbauen Sie lernen hier zum Beispiel den Bau von Gewächshäusern, biologischen Dünger herzustellen oder wie Schädlinge natürlich bekämpft werden können. So werden sie nicht abhängig von Hybridsamen und chemischen Pestiziden. Jungpflanzen wurden an manche als Starthilfe verteilt, verkauft oder gegen Ernteanteile abgegeben. Durch die gemeinsame Verarbeitung und Vermarktung der erzeugten Produkte kann in Zukunft nicht nur die eigene Versorgung gestärkt, sondern auch Einkommen generiert werden. Die Verantwortung liegt jedoch im Sinne des Empowerments von Anfang an bei der Frauenkooperative von Chyangsar: Die Eigeninitiative der Frauen ist essentiell und wird nicht nur in die Gesamtentwicklung eingebunden, sondern ist treibende Kraft. Siehe dazu: Lokale Strukturen aufbauen und stärken.

Für die fachliche Umsetzung dieses Projektes konnten wir die nepalesische Organisation Social Work Institute gewinnen. Die ExpertInnen des Instituts führen die Schulungen zu Themen wie Anbau, Kompostherstellung aber auch Buchführung und Planung durch.

Unsere Rolle

Seit dem Erdbeben 2015 hat Roots for Life gemeinsam mit den Frauen die Aktivitäten der Trainingsfarm initialisiert und finanziert. Roots for Life konnte den Betrieb der Trainingsfarm unter anderem durch die finanzielle Förderung von Fair Styria gewährleisten. Viele Frauen arbeiten unentgeltlich auf der Modellfarm. So gab es zu Beginn des Projektes kein einziges Gewächshaus im Dorf. Nachdem gemeinsam drei große auf der Modellfarm gebaut wurden, errichteten einige Frauen mit dem neuen Wissen auch private für sich selbst.

Slideshow

Fotos

CH_F living fence 1 CH_F living fence 4 CH_F living fence 3 CH_F management training 1 CH_F management training 5 CH_F management training 3 CH_F cabbage harvest help kusang CH_F government greenhouse 2 CH_F government greenhouse 4 CH_F permaculture training CH_F permaculture red pants CH_F on the fild permaculture ALL_E FairStyria group Photo ALL_E FairStyria Infodesk Carola CH_F bug dead CH_F at SWI 2 CH_F at SWI 1 CH_F group photo swi CH_F tree inputs CH_F games festival CH_F women group at festival CH_F festival ghunsa group children CH_F ghunsa festival tired boy CH_F interviews ghunsa CH_W susila shop business CH_F ghunsa talks CH_F Ghunsa field CH_F Ghunsa visiting fields CH_F women carola own field bear bell CH_F women group  discussion CH_F women group 2 CH_F collecting leaves CH_F compost CH_F compost CH_F eggplants CH_F gourd CH_F Tropfschlauch CH_F women vegetables CH_F greenhouse CH_F women on field CH_F Ochsen Stall CH_F Ochsen Weide CH_F Kohl CH_F DIY Wage CH_F ochsen sharing 5 CH_F proud work CH_F preparing plants for fertilizer CH_F compost 3 CH_F training on the field CH_F training in greenhouse CH_F training raj SWI CH_F cabbage first harvest CH_F scale selling vegetables CH_F ginger tumeric fiels CH_F women in greenhouse 2 CH_F plot 5 CH_F plot location map CH_F opening farm CH_F carola opening flowers girl CH_F preparation opening CH_F group susila carola CH_F showing fields CH_F potatoe field CH_F new watersource CH_F water access CH_F women group eating CH_F water discussion CH_F watersystem broken CH_F happy women CH_F assembly

Status

Q2/2018: Die Frauen nehmen weiterhin an vielen Trainings teil. Ein ...
Mehr...

 

News

Alphabetisierungskurse gestartet

Auch die Frauen aus Ghunsa haben nun erstmals an Schulungen in Chyangsar teilgenommen. (Besser) Lesen und Schreiben zu lernen war ...
Mehr...

Projekt in Ghunsa

Zusammen mit Chay Ya Nepal starten wir nun das Dorfentwicklungsprojekt in Ghunsa. Geplant sind ähnliche Aktivitäten wie in Chyangsar, wir ...
Mehr...

Ein lebender Zaun

Um das gesamte Farmgelände herum… …errichten die DorfbewohnerInnen von Chyangsar nun einen „lebendigen Zaun“. Sie sind regelmäßig im Dschungel unterwegs, ...
Mehr...

Lade …