Chyangsar: Organic Farming

What it is about

- In the spirit of a sustainable development of individual villages, Roots for Life developed an overall concept for Chyangsar. Part of this is building a training farm. Here, organic vegetable cultivation and in the future also vegetable processing is operated. The women of the village get a job opportunity directly on the farm. Young plants are partly distributed as start-up aid, sold or sold for harvest shares and training is carried out to make biological cultivation possible for many women. The joint processing and selling of the products does not only strengthen their own food-supply, but also generates income.

For the professional implementation of this project, we were able to win the Social Work Institute. There, we find experts on various topics such as accounting, cultivation, composting, ... However, the responsibility lies in the spirit of empowerment, from the beginning with the women's organization of Chyangsar. The existing own initiatives will also be closely integrated into the overall development in the future. See also chickens as a source of income.

Our part in this project

Since the earthquake in 2015, Roots for Life has initiated and financed the activities of the training farm together with the women. Roots for Life helped to build the training farm with the financial support of Fair Styria, among others. Time and again work is provided by the women free of charge, because it is about their future. So there was not a single greenhouse in the village at the beginning of the project, after the construction of three large ones on the training farm together, there could be discovered some small ones near the women's homes, which they built themselves.

Slideshow

Pictures

CH_F meeting Namaraj Carola CH_F map ghunsa chimding CH_F women group 1 CH_F women group  discussion CH_F women group 2 CH_F collecting leaves CH_F compost CH_F compost CH_F eggplants CH_F gourd CH_F Tropfschlauch CH_F women vegetables CH_F greenhouse CH_F pumpkins CH_F women on field CH_F CH_C farm from sky CH_F Ochsen Stall CH_F Ochsen Weide CH_F Kohl CH_F Kohl abwägen 2 CH_F Kohl abwägen CH_F DIY Wage CH_F compost 2 CH_F compost 4 CH_F compost 1 CH_F ochsen sharing 3 CH_F ochsen sharing 4 CH_F ochsen sharing 5 CH_F proud work CH_F preparing plants for fertilizer CH_F compost 3 CH_F training on the field CH_F training in greenhouse CH_F training raj SWI CH_F cabbage first harvest CH_F scale selling vegetables CH_F wheat field CH_F cabbage field CH_F ginger tumeric fiels CH_F women in greenhouse 2 CH_F women in greenhouse CH_F second greenhouse CH_F plot 5 CH_F plot 6 CH_F plot location map CH_F opening farm CH_F carola opening flowers girl CH_F preparation opening CH_F group susila carola CH_F fields shelter CH_F first greenhouse CH_F showing fields CH_F potatoe field CH_F kusang and watersource CH_F Carola and watersource CH_F new watertanks CH_F new watersource CH_F water access CH_F women group eating CH_F water discussion CH_F watersystem broken CH_F happy women CH_F planned plots CH_F assembly CH_F women look CH_F developing ideas CH_F closing contract CH_F discussion

Status

Q4/2017: Many other types of vegetables are grown and thrive ...
More...

 

News

Discussions & Planning

Even after 28 hours of sleeplessness, there is no rest: the route must be checked one last time, transport secured ...
More...

Strong women from Ghunsa and Chimding

For Womensay on 8th of march we would like to introduce the women of Chimding and Ghunsa: They have already ...
More...

The operation went well

Because she didn’t get along so well with her husband’s family, where she had to live after the wedding, S.K ...
More...

Loading...

Chyangsar: Biologischer Gemüseanbau

Worum es geht

- Im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung einzelner Dörfer entwickelte Roots for Life ein Gesamtkonzept für Chyangsar. Ein Teil davon ist der Aufbau einer Trainingsfarm. Hier wird biologischer Gemüseanbau und in Zukunft auch Gemüseverarbeitung betrieben. Die Frauen des Dorfes erhalten eine Arbeitsmöglichkeit direkt auf der Farm. Jungpflanzen werden zT als Starthilfe verteilt, verkauft oder gegen Ernteanteile abgegeben sowie Trainings durchgeführt, die möglichst vielen Frauen den biologischen Anbau ermöglichen sollen. Durch die gemeinsame Verarbeitung und Vermarktung der erzeugten Produkte kann nicht nur die eigene Versorgung gestärkt, sondern auch Einkommen generiert werden.

Für die fachliche Umsetzung dieses Projektes konnten wir das Social Work Institute gewinnen. Dort finden wir ExpertInnen zu unterschiedlichen Themen wie Buchführung, Anbau, Komposterstellung, ... Die Verantwortung liegt jedoch im Sinne des Empowerments von Anfang an bei der Frauenorganisation von Chyangsar. Auch die bereits bestehenden Eigeninitiativen sollen in Zukunft eng in die Gesamtentwicklung eingebunden werden. Siehe dazu auch Hühner als Einkommensquelle.

Unsere Rolle

Seit dem Erdbeben 2015 hat Roots for Life gemeinsam mit den Frauen die Aktivitäten der Trainingsfarm initialisiert und finanziert. Roots for Life konnte den Aufbau der Trainingsfarm unter anderem durch die finanzielle Förderung von Fair Styria gewährleisten. Es werden auch immer wieder Arbeitsleistungen von den Frauen unentgeltlich erbracht, geht es doch um ihre Zukunft. So gab es zu Beginn des Projektes kein einziges Gewächshaus im Dorf,  nach dem Bau von drei großen auf der Trainingsfarm gemeinsam, konnten auch schon einige kleine bei den Frauen entdeckt werden, die sie selbst gebaut haben.

Slideshow

Fotos

CH_F meeting Namaraj Carola CH_F map ghunsa chimding CH_F women group 1 CH_F women group  discussion CH_F women group 2 CH_F collecting leaves CH_F compost CH_F compost CH_F eggplants CH_F gourd CH_F Tropfschlauch CH_F women vegetables CH_F greenhouse CH_F pumpkins CH_F women on field CH_F CH_C farm from sky CH_F Ochsen Stall CH_F Ochsen Weide CH_F Kohl CH_F Kohl abwägen 2 CH_F Kohl abwägen CH_F DIY Wage CH_F compost 2 CH_F compost 4 CH_F compost 1 CH_F ochsen sharing 3 CH_F ochsen sharing 4 CH_F ochsen sharing 5 CH_F proud work CH_F preparing plants for fertilizer CH_F compost 3 CH_F training on the field CH_F training in greenhouse CH_F training raj SWI CH_F cabbage first harvest CH_F scale selling vegetables CH_F wheat field CH_F cabbage field CH_F ginger tumeric fiels CH_F women in greenhouse 2 CH_F women in greenhouse CH_F second greenhouse CH_F plot 5 CH_F plot 6 CH_F plot location map CH_F opening farm CH_F carola opening flowers girl CH_F preparation opening CH_F group susila carola CH_F fields shelter CH_F first greenhouse CH_F showing fields CH_F potatoe field CH_F kusang and watersource CH_F Carola and watersource CH_F new watertanks CH_F new watersource CH_F water access CH_F women group eating CH_F water discussion CH_F watersystem broken CH_F happy women CH_F planned plots CH_F assembly CH_F women look CH_F developing ideas CH_F closing contract CH_F discussion

Status

Q4/2017: Viele weitere Gemüsesorten werden angebaut und wachsen dank der ...
Mehr...

 

News

Besprechungen & Planung

Auch nach 28 Stunden Schlafentzug gibt es keine Ruhe: Die Route muss noch ein letztes Mal überprüft, Transport sichergestellt und ...
Mehr...

Starke Frauen aus Ghunsa und Chimding

Zum Frauentag am 8. März möchten wir die Frauen von Chimding und Ghunsa vorstellen: Sie haben bereits in Chyangsar biologisches ...
Mehr...

Operation gut verlaufen

Weil sie sich mit der Familie ihres Mannes bei der sie nach der Hochzeit wohnen musste, nicht so gut verstand, ...
Mehr...

Lade …