Chyangsar: Construction of Farming Facilities

What it is about

  - In the spirit of a sustainable development of individual villages, Roots for Life developed an overall concept for Chyangsar. In addition to the training of women in sustainable organic vegetable cultivation and the renting or farming of the fields, the village needs the right infrastructure for a successful implementation of the project. With the financial help of Networkers for Humanity and Soroptimist International (Union Switzerland and France), Roots for Life can now build a training farm.

The farm has several functions. It is the place where women not only grow, buy and process the plants, but also a place of communication where they can give lectures and general training as well as celebrate village festivals. Land has already been purchased and the following buildings are to be built:

  • Training hall

This will be the central place in the village. At the moment, there is no place where more than five to six people can gather and work in one building. This is especially important during the rainy season and in winter. We use the times when working outdoors is not possible to teach people knowledge. In the training hall, the harvest is also to be processed and sold until there is a shop in the village.

  • Kitchen house and guest room

In this house, the entire production - as far as it needs a kitchen - take place. The basic principle of the "training farm" is not about the efficient, economically oriented production, but about the possibility to learn, to try out, to practice.

In addition to these two buildings, some stables for oxen and chickens, toilets and showers as well as water supply and possibly a biogas plant are being built.

Our part in this project

Since the earthquake in 2015, Roots for Life has initiated and financed the activities of the training farm together with the women. Roots for Life helped to build the training farm with the financial support of Fair Styria, among others. Time and again work is provided by the women free of charge, because it is about their future. So there was not a single greenhouse in the village at the beginning of the project, after the construction of three large ones on the training farm together, there could be discovered some small ones near the women's homes, which they built themselves.

Pictures

no images were found

Status

Q1/2019: The buildings in Chyangsar on the training farm were ...
More...

News

Newsletter July

At first it seemed as if the apple orchard in Chyangsar would become history again before the first trees were ...
More...

There are many reasons

…why girls don’t get an education. At the Zonta International conference on forced and early marriage, Carola Gosch spoke with ...
More...

On FairStyria day at 30 degrees

…brave students, teachers and other interested people also came to our stand. We were able to present the projects and ...
More...

Loading...

Chyangsar: Bau der Farmgebäude

Worum es geht

- Im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung einzelner Dörfer entwickelte Roots for Life ein Gesamtkonzept für Chyangsar. Neben der Ausbildung der Frauen in nachhaltigem biologischem Gemüseanbau und dem Anmieten bzw. Bewirtschaften der Felder, braucht das Dorf für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung des Projekts auch die passende Infrastruktur. Mit finanzieller Hilfe von Networkers for Humanity und Soroptimist International (Union Schweiz und Frankreich) kann Roots for Life nun den Bau einer Trainingsfarm verwirklichen.

Die Farm hat mehrere Funktionen. Sie ist der Platz, wo die Frauen nicht nur die Pflanzen ziehen, erwerben und verarbeiten, sondern ein Kommunikationsort, wo sie Vorträge und allgemeine Trainings absolvieren sowie Dorffeste feiern können. Es wurde bereits Grund angekauft und folgende Gebäude sollen errichtet werden:

  • Trainingshalle

Dies wird der zentrale Ort im Dorf. Im Moment gibt es keinen Platz, wo sich mehr als fünf bis sechs Menschen in einem Haus versammeln und arbeiten können. Dies ist insbesondere in der Regenzeit und im Winter wichtig. Wir nutzen somit die Zeiten, wo die Arbeit im Freien nicht möglich ist, um den Menschen Wissen zu vermitteln. In der Trainingshalle soll zudem die Ernte verarbeitet und verkauft werden, bis es im Dorf einen eigenen Shop gibt. 

  • Küchenhaus und Gästezimmer 

In diesem Haus wird die gesamte Produktion – soweit sie eine Küche benötigt - stattfinden. Aus dem Grundprinzip der „Trainingsfarm“ heraus geht es nicht um die effiziente ökonomisch orientierte Produktion, sondern um die Möglichkeit zu lernen, auszuprobieren, zu üben.

Zu diesen beiden Gebäuden werden außerdem noch einige Ställe für Ochsen und Hühner, Toiletten und Duschen sowie Wasserversorgung und ev. eine Biogasanlage erbaut.

 

Unsere Rolle

Seit dem Erdbeben 2015 hat Roots for Life gemeinsam mit den Frauen die Aktivitäten der Trainingsfarm initialisiert und finanziert. Roots for Life konnte den Aufbau der Trainingsfarm unter anderem durch die finanzielle Förderung von Fair Styria gewährleisten. Es werden auch immer wieder Arbeitsleistungen von den Frauen unentgeltlich erbracht, geht es doch um ihre Zukunft. So gab es zu Beginn des Projektes kein einziges Gewächshaus im Dorf,  nach dem Bau von drei großen auf der Trainingsfarm gemeinsam, konnten auch schon einige kleine bei den Frauen entdeckt werden, die sie selbst gebaut haben.

Fotos

no images were found

Status

Q1/2018 Alle Entscheidungen, wie der genaue Standort der Gebäude wurden ...
Mehr...

News

Nicht mehr im Notquartier

Die BewohnerInnen von Chyangsar haben endlich Geld von der Regierung bekommen um ihre eigenen Häuser nach dem Erdbeben 2015 (!) ...
Mehr...

Roots for Life am Networker for Humanity-Tag

Carola Gosch konnte am Networker for Humanity-Tag in Fellbach bei Stuttgart den 1.700 interessierten BesucherInnen das Dorfentwicklungsprojekt von Roots for ...
Mehr...

Trainings finden bereits in der neuen Halle statt

Bei Gesprächen mit den Frauen und dem Sammeln von Informationen vor Start des Projekts in Chyangsar, wurde schnell klar, was ...
Mehr...

Lade …