Initial Help for the earhquake stricken village of Chyangsar

What it is about

- The village of Chyangsar (Solukhumbu) was severely affected by the 2015 earthquake. As for many other remote villages, there was little support from the government. Therefore, Roots for Life decided to take some action to help immediately and directly. With aluminum plates about 60 families were able to build a roof onto their damaged homes, repair their houses or build an emergency shelter. We visited the village three times and provided the Setigaiya School’s pupils with new school uniforms, which is a precondition for them to attend school at all. In addition, the medical base was provided with medicines and bandage material. We used each visit to inform the village association about the risks of the children's travelling to school and other current topics.

Our part in this project

Roots for Life was the only international organization to provide emergency aid in this region after the 2015 earthquake. After our 3rd visit, a “friendship alliance” between Roots for Life and the village of Chyangsar was founded. By our earthquake emergency aid we paved the way to go back to “normality”. Thus, afterwards our support shifted from “Action” to “Empowerment”. The focus of the collaboration with the villagers of Chyangsar is now the establishment of own merit possibilities, especially for women. We want to support the women without taking their own initiatives out of their hands. For example, we help them to establish their livelihood by cultivating organic vegetables or building small chicken farms.

Pictures

Status

Q4/2016: Our emergency aid has been completed. New or repaired houses and emergency accomodations were built from the metal sheets and building material we provided. Now we focus to establish tangible projects to help especially the village women to earn their own income ...
More...

News

Chyangsar – Tin roofs have been used in many ways

New pictures reached us these days from the region Solukhumbu and the village Chyangsar. They show how our metal sheets were ...
More...

Solukhumbu: Drugs

Narayane Khadka has been working for years in the Kerung Health Post, together with 4 nurses and a doctor. They ...
More...

Setigaiya School in Chyangsar

In Chyangsar (Solukhumbu, Nepal), 40 children attend the Setigaiya School. They need up to 4 hours daily for their way ...
More...

Chyangsar: Tin roofs

Solukhumbu one of the most affected areas after the earthquake. There is almost no support from the government. Help is ...
More...

Erdbebenhilfe in Chyangsar

Worum es geht

- Das Dorf Chyangsar (Solukhumbu) war vom Erdbeben 2015 stark betroffen. Wie für viele andere entlegene Dörfer gab es hier von der Regierung bisher keine Unterstützung. Deshalb entschloss sich Roots for Life bereits 2015 direkt zu helfen. Mit Aluminiumblechen konnten sich ca. 60 Familien eine Notunterkunft bauen oder die Häuser reparieren. Bei drei Besuchen im Dorf wurden auch die SchülerInnen der Setigaiya School mit neuen Schuluniformen ausgestattet, für die Kinder eine soziale Voraussetzung, die Schule überhaupt zu besuchen. Zudem wurde der medizinische Stützpunkt mit Medikamenten und Verbandsmaterial versorgt. Jeder Besuch wurde genutzt, um die Dorfgemeinschaft über die Risiken des Schulweges und andere aktuelle Themen zu informieren. Gemeinsam wurde diskutiert, welche Maßnahmen getroffen werden können..

Unsere Rolle

Roots for Life war die einzige internationale Organisation, die hier nach dem Erdbeben 2015  Soforthilfe geleistet hat. Nach unserem 3. Besuch vor Ort wurde ein „Freundschafts-Bündnis“ zwischen Roots for Life und dem Dorf Chyangsar geschlossen. Nachdem durch unsere Erdbeben Soforthilfe die Basis geschaffen wurde, wieder zur „Normalität“ überzugehen, verlagert sich unsere Unterstützung von „Action“ auf „Empowerment“.  Fokus der Zusammenarbeit ist fortan der Aufbau von eigenen Verdienstmöglichkeiten vor allem für Frauen. Dabei wollen wir die Frauen unterstützen, ohne ihnen die Eigeninitiative aus den Händen zu nehmen. Zum Beispiel helfen wir ihnen bei der Existenzgründung durch biologischen Gemüseanbau oder dem Aufbau kleiner Hühnerfarmen.

Fotos

Status

Q4/2016: Die Soforthilfe ist abgeschlossen. Aus den von uns gelieferten Wellblechen und Baumaterialien wurden Notunterkünfte und neue oder reparierte Häuser errichtet. Im Dorf werden nun konkrete Projekte durchgeführt: Hühnerfarm, Biologischer Gemüseanbau ...
Mehr...

News

Counting the metall sheets first for women

17/01 Chyangsar – Wellblechplatten fanden vielfach Verwendung

       Neue Bilder erreichten uns in diesen Tagen aus der Region Solukhumbu und dem Dorf Chyangsar. Sie zeigen, wie ...
Mehr...
we bring drugs and money

Solukhumbu: Medikamente

Narayane devi Khadka arbeitet seit Jahren in der Kerung Health Post. Fünf Schwestern und ein Arzt betreuen ca. 5.000 Menschen ...
Mehr...
Information about how to get to school safely

Setigaiya Schule in Chyangsar

Die Setigaiya Schule in Chyangsar (Solukhumbu, Nepal) unterrichtet 40 Kinder, die bis zu 4 Stunden täglich durch den Dschungel dorthin ...
Mehr...
2015: Serious situation in damaged houses

Chyangsar: Hausdächer

Solukhumbu ist eine vom Erdbeben stark betroffene Region. Unterstützung der Regierung in diesen Dörfern ist kaum vorhanden. Hilfe kommt großteils ...
Mehr...