Chyangsar/Ghunsa/Kathmandu: Individual Scholarships

Girls have to take on many household duties from an early age. Whether they can go to school or not is of secondary importance. Many can hardly read and write, they are especially important as workers. Due to the poverty of their families, many girls in rural areas are still married very early, even at the age of 12 to 16. There they live together with a (often much older) man whom they almost do not know and also have to run the household under the strict supervision of their mothers-in-law. Only through education is it possible to break this cycle: without education, young women are dependent on their husbands and their families. If this dies or leaves them, they have hardly any chances. Sometimes they are also chased away by their husbands or parents-in-law when they give birth to a girl. But even when they are married, they often do not escape poverty: the mothers then have to decide whether they prefer to feed their children or send them to school. These children then have just as few chances as their mothers.

Our role

We have developed our own process to support our scholarship holders: Through regular meetings with parents (especially mothers), teachers and the girls themselves, the life situation of the scholarship holders is closely monitored and important topics are discussed with the family. Together we discuss what the girls really need in order to work optimally on their education. In this way, individual consideration can be given to special situations. Our local employee Kusang Tamang visits the girls regularly and hands over the materials.

Slideshow

Pictures

CH_S birth certificate CH_S taekwondo girls CH_S taekwondo girl flexible CH_S taekwondo foot CH_S light shoes blue CH_S group picture flip flop CH_S flipflop girl orange CH_S aruna new girl carola CH_S Aruna new girl smiling CH_S aruna new girl happy CH_S birth certificate CH_S talk with family group photo CH_S tamang girls training CH_S Tamang girls schooldress CH_C Lhamu mother and carola scarf CH_C mother Lhamu eggs CH_S father carola library CH_C lhamu document CH_C family house Lhamu CH_S certificate 1 CH_S certificate 2 CH_S susila Lhamu march group CH_S susila lhamu menuka CH_S Renuka Khadka CH_S Sunita Tamang CH_S Sangita Khadka CH_S cooking CH_S SWI programme 1 CH_S SWI programme CH_S classes at SWI CH_S lhamu and sushila CH_S puppets group CH_S jackets CH_S susila matratzen CH_S hats CH_S Susila und Oma CH_S carola kids CH_S kids books bags CH_S sunita CH_S sujata

Status

Q1/2020: The children in Chyangsar thanked Lena Kremser for her ...
More...

 

News

Preparation …

… was also necessary for the wash workshop of Chay-ya Nepal. Our social worker Racedi Pathak went to the women ...
More...

Masks …

… are now also sewn in Meranding. Also here the women from Chyangsar have done the training and generated income ...
More...

Growth …

… the cooperative now gets by the women of Kunikhop. They are interested in our programs and in long discussions ...
More...

Loading...

Chyangsar: Individuelle Stipendien

Von klein auf müssen Mädchen viele Pflichten im Haushalt übernehmen. Ob sie in die Schule gehen können oder nicht, ist zweitrangig. Viele können kaum lesen und schreiben, wichtig sind sie vor Allem als Arbeitskraft. Viele Mädchen am Land werden aufgrund der Armut ihrer Familien immer noch sehr früh verheiratet, schon im Alter von 12 bis 16 Jahren. Dort leben sie dann mit einem (oft wesentlich älteren) Mann zusammen, den sie fast nicht kennen und müssen ebenfalls unter der strengen Aufsicht der Schwiegermütter den Haushalt führen. Nur durch Bildung ist es möglich diesen Kreislauf zu durchbrechen: Ohne Bildung sind die jungen Frauen abhängig von ihren Männern und dessen Familien. Stirbt dieser oder verlässt sie, haben sie kaum Chancen. Teilweise werden sie auch vom Mann oder Schwiegereltern verjagt, wenn sie ein Mädchen zur Welt bringen. Aber auch verheiratet kommen sie oft nicht aus der Armut heraus: Die Mütter müssen sich dann entscheiden ob sie ihre Kinder lieber ernähren oder in die Schule schicken wollen. Diese Kinder haben dann ebenso wenige Chancen wie ihre Mütter.

Unsere Rolle

Zur Betreuung unserer StipendiatInnen haben wir einen eigenen Prozess entwickelt: Durch regelmäßige Meetings mit den Eltern (vor allem Müttern), LehrerInnen und den Mädchen selbst, wird die Lebenssituation der Stipendiatinnen genau beobachtet und wichtige Themen mit der Familie besprochen. Es wird gemeinsam diskutiert, was die Mädchen wirklich brauchen um optimal an ihrer Ausbildung zu arbeiten. Auf diese Weise kann individuell auf die speziellen Situationen Rücksicht genommen werden. Unser lokaler Mitarbeiter Kusang Tamang besucht die Mädchen regelmäßig und übergibt die Materialien eigenhändig.

Slideshow

Fotos

CH_S birth certificate CH_S taekwondo girls CH_S taekwondo girl flexible CH_S taekwondo high leg CH_S taekwondo foot CH_S light shoes blue CH_S group picture flip flop CH_S flipflop girl orange CH_S aruna new girl carola CH_S Aruna new girl smiling CH_S family question CH_S talk with family group photo CH_S talk with families CH_S tamang girls training CH_S tamang girls vegetables CH_S Tamang girls home CH_S Tamang girls schooldress CH_C Lhamu mother and carola scarf CH_C mother Lhamu eggs CH_S certificate 1 CH_S certificate 2 CH_S susila Lhamu march group CH_S susila lhamu menuka CH_S Renuka Khadka CH_S Sunita Tamang CH_S Sangita Khadka CH_S Parmila Khadka CH_S cooking CH_S SWI programme 1 CH_S classes at SWI CH_S jackets CH_S matratzen übergabe CH_S hats CH_S Susila und Oma CH_S Susila Radio CH_S kids books bags CH_S distribution CH_S sunita CH_S sujata CH_S girls in Tamang dress

Status

Q2/Q3 2019: Um den individuellen Bedarf der Kinder festzustellen, fanden ...
Mehr...

 

News

Ein eigenes Programm

…haben die Kinder in Chyangsar zum Empfang dieses mal vorbereitet. Die erste selbstgesprochene englische Ansprache (Bei der die Mutter versuchte ...
Mehr...

Newsletter November

Männer die Menstruationsbinden nähen? Ein etwas ungewöhnliches Bild – in Nepal wie in Österreich. Warum es trotzdem wichtig ist und ...
Mehr...

Carola Gosch ist wieder in Nepal um unsere Projekte zu besuchen!

Der Terminkalender ist wie immer voll, viel gibt es zu besprechen und organisieren. Ein Foodfestival in Ghunsa findet statt, die ...
Mehr...

Lade …