Status Organic Farming

Q1/2019:

During Carola Gosch’s visit to Nepal, she was able to find a partner for the certification of the model farm for organic vegetable cultivation. The organisation Hasera will support us within the next two years. In addition, Carola Gosch also networked with local politicians, as cooperation with decision-makers is becoming increasingly important. Together with the Social Work Institute, the year 2019 was planned and the budget discussed.

The cooperative has already independently submitted an application to the government and thus received money for trees to secure the slope against landslides. They buried them in voluntary work and used the remaining money for the purchase of a mill. Now grain can finally be ground in the village again at a reasonable price.

Through the commitment of Lena Kremser, additional donations could be collected at a theatre performance of the VGT-Bühne St. Martin.

Year overview 2018:

Vegetable production got off to a good start in 2018, despite storms that destroyed the greenhouses. The farm was further equipped, for example with a fence made of bushes. More and more people in the village now own animals for their own needs but also to sell them. Unfortunately, these animals also like our vegetables and get them whenever they can. The exemplary effect of the farm has already shown the first effect in the generally better food supply.

Q3/2018:

The autumn harvest was again able to find numerous customers this year. Especially tomatoes were planted this season. Around the farm, the inhabitants also planted a “living fence” of prickly perennials and useful shrubs in order to be able to keep animals even better away from the vegetables in the future. The literacy courses are very popular with the women, who are fully motivated.

Q2/2018:

The women continue to participate in many trainings. A trained Permaculture expert gave a first insight into this special form of agriculture. In addition, management training should help women to run their cooperative legally and successfully. During their trip to Nepal, Tomás and Javier Martínez gave some input on organic farming. A lively exchange arose and even after their return they were still contacted by the village community with questions. The first harvest was already almost completely sold and the government also got the village materials for the construction of greenhouses. On the FairStyria days Carola Gosch talked about the projects especially about the trainings.

The women from Ghunsa were selected as future project partners. In conversations with the women themselves, RfL was able to determine what problems they face and discuss their wishes and ideas. At a festival, the two villages got to know each other and laid the foundation for a solidary cooperation.

Q1/2018:

The vegetable production is running, despite strong storms that damaged the greenhouses. The farm project is spoken of in the surrounding villages. Some women’s groups have expressed an interest in implementing such a project with the support of Roots for Life. During her trip to Nepal, Carola Gosch carried out assessment talks with, among others, women from Ghunsa in order to evaluate whether the village was suitable for such a project.
 
Also away from farming, Roots for Life supports the Women’s Agricultural Cooperative and helped a member pay for a heavy operation.

Year overview 2017:

For the financing, we were able to reach a financing commitment from the province of Styria (Austria) as part of the Fair Styria program. After six months, the greenhouses were ready for use and a new water source opened up – The farm was officially opened. In addition, 15 households benefited from the source and for the first time had direct water access in front of the house. The women of the village and also some men, completed many trainings. This included, for example, the production of organic fertilizer. Due to the learned skills they soon had so many vegetables that it could be sold. Through financial means of Fair Styria a community stable was built and ox sharing was established in the village. This way, the animals can be borrowed for the management of the fields on the training farm and natural fertilizer can be produced. The women are learning more and more and are also developing new ideas to improve their production, such as a mobile irrigation system.

Q4/2017:

Many other types of vegetables are grown and thrive perfectly thanks to the functioning compost production. The women continue to develop their skills, knowledge and use it to drive production forward, for example by designing a mobile irrigation system.

Q3/2017:

The vegetable grows so well that it is not only for the women’s own needs, but can also be sold already. In addition to cultivating fields, the women of experts also receive training in organic cultivation. This includes, for example, the production of natural fertilizer and compost.

In addition, a new concept could be established, the oxen sharing. Families who own oxen provide them to the whole village. As a result, all villagers have the possibility to borrow them for the cultivation of the fields and have easy access to natural fertilizer.

Q1-Q2/2017:

In just six months the training facility was successfully opened thanks to the support of FairStyria. The leasing contract was concluded for 20 years. Also, a new water source now supplies the families of the farm and 15 other households, the old one had been defective since the earthquake in 2015. During the opening in spring 2017, Carola Gosch was present herself and visited the fields. Soon the first seedlings were harvested and planted on the fields outside the greenhouse. Thanks to the new irrigation system, the vegetables have grown well and new greenhouses have been built for chili and tomatoes.

Q4/2016:

For funding, we were able to reach a commitment by Styria (Austria) within the framework of the “Fair Styria” program. Lease contracts are in preparation and the Social Work Institute has already carried out initial analyzes with regard to soil and climate on site.

Status Biologischer Gemüseanbau

Q3/2018:

Die Herbsternte konnte auch dieses Jahr wieder zahlreiche AbnehmerInnen finden. Besonders Tomaten wurden in dieser Saison angepflanzt. Um die Farm herum pflanzten die BewohnerInnen auch einen „lebendigen Zaun“ aus stacheligen Stauden und Nutzsträuchern, um Tiere in Zukunft noch besser vom Gemüse fernhalten zu können. Die Alphabetisierungskurse stoßen auf viel Zuspruch auf Seite der Frauen, sie sind mit voller Motivation dabei.

Q2/2018:

Die Frauen nehmen weiterhin an vielen Trainings teil. Ein ausgebildeter Permakulturexperte gab einen ersten Einblick in diese spezielle Form der Landwirtschaft. Zudem sollen Managementtrainings den Frauen helfen ihre Kooperative rechtskonform und erfolgreich zu führen. Während ihrer Nepalreise gaben Tomás und Javier Martínez einige Inputs zu biologischer Landwirtschaft. Ein reger Austausch entstand und auch nach ihrer Rückkehr wurden sie noch von der Dorfgemeinschaft mit Fragen kontaktiert. Die erste Ernte wurde bereits fast vollständig verkauft und auch von der Regierung erreichten das Dorf Materialien für den Bau von Gewächshäusern. Auf den FairStyria Tagen sprach Vereinsobfrau Carola Gosch über die Projekte speziell über die Trainings.

Die Frauen aus Ghunsa wurden als zukünftiger Projektpartner ausgewählt. Bei Gesprächen mit den Frauen selbst konnte RfL feststellen vor welchen Problemen sie stehen und ihre Wünsche und Vorstellungen besprechen. Bei einem Fest lernten sich die Frauen der beiden Dörfer kennen und der Grundstein für eine solidarische Zusammenarbeit wurde somit gelegt.

Q1/2018:

Die Gemüseproduktion läuft, trotz starker Stürme, die die Gewächshäuser beschädigten. Das Farmprojekt spricht sich auch in den umliegenden Dörfern herum. Einige Frauengruppen haben Interesse bekundet ein solches Projekt mit der Unterstützung von Roots for Life auch bei sich umzusetzen. Bei ihrer Nepalreise führte Carola Gosch Assessment-Gespräche unter anderem mit Frauen aus Ghunsa durch um zu evaluieren ob sich das Dorf für ein solches Projekt eignen.

Auch abseits von Farmwirtschaft unterstützt Roots for Life die Frauen-Agrarkooperative und half einem Mitglied eine schwere Operation zu bezahlen.

Jahresübersicht 2017

Für die Finanzierung konnten wir eine Zusage zur Förderung des Landes Steiermark (Österreich) im Rahmen des Fair Styria Programmes erreichen. Nach sechs Monaten waren die Gewächshäuser einsatzbereit und eine neue Wasserquelle erschlossen – Die Farm wurde offiziell eröffnet. Im Zuge dessen profitierten zudem 15 Haushalte von der Quelle und hatten erstmals direkten Wasserzugang vor dem Haus. Die Frauen des Dorfes und auch einige Männer, absolvierten viele Trainings. Dazu gehörte zum Beispiel die Produktion von biologischem Dünger. Durch die erlernten Fähigkeiten hatten sie bald so viel Gemüse, dass es auch verkauft werden konnte. Durch finanzielle Mittel von Fair Styria wurde ein Gemeinschaftsstall gebaut und Ochsen-Sharing im Dorf etabliert. So können die Tiere zur Bewirtschaftung der Felder auf der Trainingsfarm ausgeborgt und natürlicher Dünger erzeugt werden. Die Frauen lernen immer mehr und entwickeln auch selbst neue Ideen um die Produktion zu verbessern, wie zum Beispiel eine mobile Bewässerungsanlage.

Q4/2017:

Viele weitere Gemüsesorten werden angebaut und wachsen dank der funktionierenden Kompostproduktion einwandfrei. Die Frauen entwickeln ihr Können, ihr Wissen weiter und setzen ihre Fähigkeiten ein um die Produktion voranzutreiben: Zum Beispiel durch die Konstruktion einer mobilen Bewässerungsanlage.

Q3/2017:

Das Gemüse wächst so gut, dass es nicht nur für den eigenen Bedarf der Frauen reicht, sondern auch schon verkauft werden kann. Neben dem Bewirtschaften der Felder, bekommen die Frauen von ExpertInnen auch Trainings in biologischem Anbau. Dazu zählt zum Beispiel das Herstellen von natürlichem Dünger und Kompost.

Zusätzlich konnte ein neues Konzept etabliert werden, das Oxen-Sharing. In einem Gemeinschaftsstall stellen Familien, die Ochsen besitzen, diese dem ganzen Dorf zur Verfügung. Dadurch können alle die Tiere zur Bewirtschaftung der Felder ausborgen und haben Zugang zu natürlichem Dünger.

Q1-Q2/2017:

In nur sechs Monaten konnte die Trainingsfarm dank der Förderung von FairStyria erfolgreich eröffnet werden. Der Pachtvertrag wurde für 20 Jahre abgeschlossen. Auch eine neue Wasserquelle versorgt nun die Familien und 15 weitere Haushalte, die alte ist seit dem Erdbeben 2015 defekt. Carola Gosch war selbst anwesend und hat die Felder besichtigt. Bald konnten die ersten Setzlinge herangezogen und die Pflanzen ausgesetzt werden. Dank des neuen Bewässerungssystems ist das Gemüse gut herangewachsen und für Chili und Tomaten wurden neue Gewächshäuser aufgebaut.

Q4/2016:

Für die Finanzierung konnten wir eine Zusage zur Förderung des Landes Steiermark (Österreich) im Rahmen des Fair Styria Programmes erreichen. Die Pachtverträge sind in Vorbereitung und das Social Work Institute hat bereits erste Analysen in Bezug auf Boden und Klima vor Ort durchgeführt.