Status Kathmandu

Project completion

In the 5-year cooperation with Raksha Nepal, a lot was achieved for the children. After the earthquake, a new house was found and renovated. The children’s school could be equipped with age-appropriate books through a project with Soroptimist International. Now Raksha Nepal is well prepared for the future and works with other partners. Roots for Life is now turning to other projects. The cooperation between Raksha Nepal and Roots for Life is officially over. Both partners, however, remain each other as advisors and friends.

Q3/2017

Roots for Life has accompanied Raksha Nepal for five years and has implemented many projects together. The care center is now well prepared for the future and works with other partners. Nevertheless, RfL will give advice to Menuka Tapa as needed.

Q1-Q2/2017:

The renovation of the house is progressing well, the children have already moved into their new rooms. Cozy beds, small pictures, photos and figures: The personality and individuality of each child appear. Now they can keep their personal belongings neatly in cupboards and boxes, instead of in bags and on messy stacks. Another cause of rejoicing: The My Book Buddy Project has been approved. With books that are appropriate to the children’s age they get motivated to read more. Two big parties followed: Menuka Thapa’s birthday, founder and chairwoman of Raksha Nepal, and the 5th anniversary of the cooperation between Raksha Nepal and Roots for Life. The 5-year celebration was something special for the children: Everybody was invited to the waterpark. Even “Granny” was in the country and joined for a swim.

Q4/2016:

After lengthy planning and approval processes, the renovation of the rooms for the children has started. A Taekwondo coach and an English teacher have begun to work in the new house. In addition we have applied for a project to provide all classes of the lower secondary school with age-appropriate “leisure books”.

Status Kathmandu

Q4/2017

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Raksha Nepal und Roots for Life ist offiziell beendet. Beide Partner bleiben einander jedoch als Berater und Freunde erhalten.

Q3/2017

Roots for Life hat Raksha Nepal über fünf Jahre begleitet und viele Projekte zusammen umgesetzt. Das Betreungszentrum ist nun gut für die Zukunft gewappnet und arbeitet mit anderen Partnern. Trotzdem wird RfL Menuka Tapa bei Bedarf beratend zur Seite stehen.

Q1-Q2/2017:

Die Renovierung des Hauses geht gut voran, die Kinder zogen in ihre neuen Zimmer ein. Gemütliche Betten, kleine Bilder, Fotos und Figuren: Die Persönlichkeit und Individualität der Kinder kommt hier zum Vorschein. Nun können sie ihre persönlichen Dinge ordentlich in Kästen aufbewahren, anstatt in Säcken und auf unübersichtlichen Stapeln. Ein weiterer Grund zur Freude: Das My Book Buddy Projekt wurde bewilligt. Mit altersgerechten Büchern sollen die Kindern mehr Lust zum Lesen bekommen. Gleich zwei große Feste folgten im Anschluss: Der Geburtstag von Menuka Thapa, Gründerin und Vorsitzende von Raksha Nepal und der 5. Jahrestag der Kooperation von Raksha Nepal und Roots for Life. Die 5-Jahresfeier war etwas Besonderes für die Kinder: Diese fand nämlich mit „Granny“ im Wasserpark statt.

Q4/2016:

Nach langwierigen Planungs- und Bewilligungsprozessen hat die Renovierung der Zimmer für die Kinder begonnen. Auch der Taekwondo Trainer und ein Englischlehrer haben im neuen Haus die Betreuung aufgenommen. Für die Schule, in die die Kinder gehen, konnte ein Projekt beantragt werden, um alle Klassen der Unterstufe mit altersgerechten „Freizeitbüchern“ auszustatten.